Testimonials & Reviews

5/5

Upper Extremity Specialists

Orthopedic Surgeons located in La Jolla, CA & Chula Vista, CA

20 total reviews

Upper Extremity Specialists always appreciates feedback from our valued patients. To date, we’re thrilled to have collected 20 reviews with an average rating of 5 out of 5 stars. Please read what others are saying about Upper Extremity Specialists below, and as always, we would love to collect your feedback.

Edwin S.
Submitted 01/21/20
Dr. Downing is fantastic. His easy going demeanor makes you feel comfortable from the second he walks in the room. He tells you exactly what is going on, and he takes the time to get to know you to better fulfill your needs. I MOST HIGHLY RECOMMEND Dr. Downing. Thanks, Doc.
Rebecca D.
Submitted 01/17/20
I want to say to anyone reading this review that Dr Downing is a top notch surgeon! I had my finger worked on by another Doctor in the past and was very unsatisfied! But fortunately I found Doctor Downing!!..he corrected the problem the other surgeon left me with and now my finger looks amazing!!...Dr Downing is top notch and a very Caring doctor. I’m so happy with the results and happy with the overall experience!!!...thank you Dr. Downing
Sara O.
Submitted 12/17/19
I broke my ankle in 3 places and tore every ligament, Dr. Downing was my emergency surgeon and I could not have gotten luckier. His bedside manner is fantastic, he takes his time with you and never seems rushed to move on. He answered all my questions and most before I could even ask.. He really makes sure that you are fully informed of every aspect. Now that I am 4 months out from surgery, walking again and going to P.T. I feel great. My P.T. tells me every appointment how great of a job my surgeon (Dr. Downing) did and how lucky I am to have had such a great surgeon. My recovery has been quick and everyone is so impressed with how well I get around so soon after surgery. I would recommend Dr. Downing to anyone and everyone who needs ortho surgery, although he specializes in upper extremity, he is an amazing all around ortho and would trust my ankle to him again!
Elaine C.
Submitted 12/15/19
Dr Downing is an amazing surgeon and a genuinely kind and caring physician. I have severe osteoarthritis in my left hand. My only option for a normal hand was a wrist fusion. In addition, I have very fragile skin so he was really worried about possible infection in the bone. It is now 9 weeks since my surgery, no infection and I have full use of my fingers and hand. Of course with the fusion I can't bend my wrist but I've learned to compensate for it. A bonus is you can barely see the scar! I would highly recommend Dr Downing to anyone!
Edwin G.
Submitted 12/09/19
Dr.Downing absolutely the best shoulder surgeon in San Diego. Very professional and friendly.
Pete B.
Submitted 12/09/19
After a work related injury involving my shoulder and wrist, I went to see Dr. Downing who came highly recommended. I could not be more fortunate finding a more competent caring Surgeon. He made the challenges of dealing with The Department of Labor easy for me, while getting all treatments I needed to be approved. Dr. Downing performed shoulder surgery and my shoulder now feels very strong and painless. A few months later he performed a wrist surgery, which resulted in me, now being pain free. I highly recommend Dr. Downing as a top notch surgeon and as a truly caring person. Hopefully, I will not need to, but if I ever require more treatments, I will be back to see Dr. Downing.
J L.
Submitted 12/06/19
I wish I could give more than 5 stars! Dr. Downing is a wonderful doctor and truly was an advocate my physical well being, in dealing with workman’s comp insurance. I can’t thank him and his office staff enough for their compassion in helping me with all my medical needs and procedures!
LeCarter W.
Submitted 11/27/19
Dr. Downing is a great doctor. He listens to your needs and very compassionate. Very helpful explaining procedures. He communicates so you can understand and be comfortable in what will be done regarding your procedures. Very timely with follow-ups. Very appreciative of his services. LeCarter Washington
Sorayna R.
Submitted 11/19/19
I had severe arthritis of the left thumb, (I guess its very common). It was very painful and was limited using my hand. Dr. Downing did the surgery two months ago, and I feel great. I have no pain, no tingling, no loss of feeling in any of my fingers. Overall, it was a success. I would recommend Dr. Downing and staff to friends and family. He is compassionate, professional and a great surgeon!
Artour S.
Submitted 11/13/19
Very professional and cares about every little thing. Great surgeon!
Arthur O.
Submitted 11/08/19
I had 3 surgeries Forearm,Elbow and Wrist.All were very successfull Dr. Downing is professional at what he does. All around good guy. I would recommend him to anyone. Hopefully not but if I have to have another surgery he will be my surgeon. Thanks to him and his staff I have use of my Arm and Wrist
Craig M.
Submitted 11/05/19
I was involved in a bike accident (hit by a car). I was referred by Sharp ER. The office contacted me immediately to arrange a same day appointment with Dr. Brereton. Everyone in the office was great and very compassionate (I was in a lot of pain). The surgery was scheduled and was completed expertly by Dr. Brereton. Dr. Brereton visited me daily in the hospital and oversaw my care with great compassion. The follow up care was excellent as well. Many thanks to the entire office.
Marcie V.
Submitted 11/04/19
I am a nurse case manager and a big part of my job is matching up my patients with the best doctors I can find, to get quality outcomes for them consistently. That is why I refer to Dr. Downing: he is an expert surgeon who consistently delivers every time I refer to him, no matter how hard the case is, and no matter how many obstacles there appear to be. He has treated injuries large and small: from a partial finger amputation to a crush injury of the dominant hand, to a severe upper extremity gunshot, Dr. Downing handles it all. He is also kind and respectful in addition to being genuinely talented and extremely skilled. This combination of expertise and caring is the best case scenario: providing for all my patients' needs. I cannot thank Dr. Downing enough for what he has done to help my patients, he is truly amazing!
R. O.
Submitted 10/31/19
Dr. Downing carried out a complete replacement of my right shoulder on August 23; about 10 weeks ago. It would be an understatement to say that I have been delighted with the surgery and its outcome. I attribute almost all of this success to the care and surgical skills of Dr. Downing. My age (74 years) and condition as a Type 2 diabetic both presented risk factors. To minimize the effects of the latter, he held off surgery until my diabetes was under better control, as high blood glucose is associated with an increased risk of surgical complications. Fortunately, my surgery went smoothly, with no infections or other complications. Dr. Downing followed my recovery closely, and gave clear, explicit guidance on what I should and should not do during the recovery process. Having now completed about 8 weeks of physical therapy, with steady improvement in range of motion as well as diminishing pain, I plan to continue in what I presume are the later stages of recovery. As I said earlier, I could not be happier with the outcome of my replacement surgery.
Branden F.
Submitted 10/30/19
Dr. Downing was referred to me by a friend who is a physician. Thus I already knew I was going to be in good hands. That said, I was blown away by the care and attention Dr. Downing provided for the treatment of a hand injury. His knowledge of the affected area was 100% on point. However, the genuine time he took to get to know and understand my situation is what really confirmed I was working with someone who I know I can confidently refer to others. Thank you very much Dr. Downing.
Alberto L.
Submitted 10/29/19
Dr.Downing is the best on shoulders surgery,like my Primary Dr.Ricardo Bravo see I send you whit the best Dr.on shoulders is # 1 and you goin whit him,and is rigth hi is #1thank Dr.Downing my surgery was incredible and he is very profecional I recomend to goin whit him 100% .Gracias Dr Kristofher Downing MD como me dijo mi Dr primario,te voy a mandar con el mejor orthopedista especialista en operaciones del hombro no se equivoco,claro que es el mejor yo lo recomiendo 100% una persona muy profecional que te da la confianza para realizar sus operaciones gracias por todo Dr Downing a usted y a todo su personal que es super amable mil gracias por todo.
Ryle R.
Submitted 10/27/19
My experience with Dr. Downing had been very comforting. I had one procedure done before in my life prior to the one recent. Dr. Downing alleviated a lot of stress and anxiety that came prior to the procedure and leading up to.
Thomas A.
Submitted 10/18/19
I'm a very active 72 year old male who ruptured a right bicep distal tendon. During my initial visit to my orthopedic doctor I was told that a "repair" could not be done by him but he knew a doctor that might be able to do a "reconstruction" of my bicep tendon. I was not very optimistic as what I had read, the chances were not promising that an operation would be successful. Low and behold I went to see Dr. Downing who said he could fix the tendon. I was so relieved. He did the surgery and two month later my arm is much, much better. Dr. Downing indicates that I should have full use in a few month. I am so grateful that I was referred to him. He is my miracle worker. Thank you Dr. D.
Wanda E.
Submitted 10/12/19
Dr Downing is absolutely the best. Very caring and concerned for his paitient
Colin R.
Submitted 09/19/19
Dr Downing is a genius! I severely injured three of my fingers with a circular saw almost severing the pinky finger completely. Dr Downing was able to save the pinky, add a skin graft to another and restore function and nerves in all three, One year later I am almost back to normal! Highly recommend Dr Downing if needed, but hope you don't do what I did :-)