Testimonials & Reviews

5/5

Upper Extremity Specialists

Orthopedic Surgeons located in La Jolla, CA & Chula Vista, CA

11 total reviews

Upper Extremity Specialists always appreciates feedback from our valued patients. To date, we’re thrilled to have collected 11 reviews with an average rating of 5 out of 5 stars. Please read what others are saying about Upper Extremity Specialists below, and as always, we would love to collect your feedback.

Artour S.
Submitted 11/13/19
Very professional and cares about every little thing. Great surgeon!
Arthur O.
Submitted 11/08/19
I had 3 surgeries Forearm,Elbow and Wrist.All were very successfull Dr. Downing is professional at what he does. All around good guy. I would recommend him to anyone. Hopefully not but if I have to have another surgery he will be my surgeon. Thanks to him and his staff I have use of my Arm and Wrist
Craig M.
Submitted 11/05/19
I was involved in a bike accident (hit by a car). I was referred by Sharp ER. The office contacted me immediately to arrange a same day appointment with Dr. Brereton. Everyone in the office was great and very compassionate (I was in a lot of pain). The surgery was scheduled and was completed expertly by Dr. Brereton. Dr. Brereton visited me daily in the hospital and oversaw my care with great compassion. The follow up care was excellent as well. Many thanks to the entire office.
Marcie V.
Submitted 11/04/19
I am a nurse case manager and a big part of my job is matching up my patients with the best doctors I can find, to get quality outcomes for them consistently. That is why I refer to Dr. Downing: he is an expert surgeon who consistently delivers every time I refer to him, no matter how hard the case is, and no matter how many obstacles there appear to be. He has treated injuries large and small: from a partial finger amputation to a crush injury of the dominant hand, to a severe upper extremity gunshot, Dr. Downing handles it all. He is also kind and respectful in addition to being genuinely talented and extremely skilled. This combination of expertise and caring is the best case scenario: providing for all my patients' needs. I cannot thank Dr. Downing enough for what he has done to help my patients, he is truly amazing!
R. O.
Submitted 10/31/19
Dr. Downing carried out a complete replacement of my right shoulder on August 23; about 10 weeks ago. It would be an understatement to say that I have been delighted with the surgery and its outcome. I attribute almost all of this success to the care and surgical skills of Dr. Downing. My age (74 years) and condition as a Type 2 diabetic both presented risk factors. To minimize the effects of the latter, he held off surgery until my diabetes was under better control, as high blood glucose is associated with an increased risk of surgical complications. Fortunately, my surgery went smoothly, with no infections or other complications. Dr. Downing followed my recovery closely, and gave clear, explicit guidance on what I should and should not do during the recovery process. Having now completed about 8 weeks of physical therapy, with steady improvement in range of motion as well as diminishing pain, I plan to continue in what I presume are the later stages of recovery. As I said earlier, I could not be happier with the outcome of my replacement surgery.
Branden F.
Submitted 10/30/19
Dr. Downing was referred to me by a friend who is a physician. Thus I already knew I was going to be in good hands. That said, I was blown away by the care and attention Dr. Downing provided for the treatment of a hand injury. His knowledge of the affected area was 100% on point. However, the genuine time he took to get to know and understand my situation is what really confirmed I was working with someone who I know I can confidently refer to others. Thank you very much Dr. Downing.
Alberto L.
Submitted 10/29/19
Dr.Downing is the best on shoulders surgery,like my Primary Dr.Ricardo Bravo see I send you whit the best Dr.on shoulders is # 1 and you goin whit him,and is rigth hi is #1thank Dr.Downing my surgery was incredible and he is very profecional I recomend to goin whit him 100% .Gracias Dr Kristofher Downing MD como me dijo mi Dr primario,te voy a mandar con el mejor orthopedista especialista en operaciones del hombro no se equivoco,claro que es el mejor yo lo recomiendo 100% una persona muy profecional que te da la confianza para realizar sus operaciones gracias por todo Dr Downing a usted y a todo su personal que es super amable mil gracias por todo.
Ryle R.
Submitted 10/27/19
My experience with Dr. Downing had been very comforting. I had one procedure done before in my life prior to the one recent. Dr. Downing alleviated a lot of stress and anxiety that came prior to the procedure and leading up to.
Thomas A.
Submitted 10/18/19
I'm a very active 72 year old male who ruptured a right bicep distal tendon. During my initial visit to my orthopedic doctor I was told that a "repair" could not be done by him but he knew a doctor that might be able to do a "reconstruction" of my bicep tendon. I was not very optimistic as what I had read, the chances were not promising that an operation would be successful. Low and behold I went to see Dr. Downing who said he could fix the tendon. I was so relieved. He did the surgery and two month later my arm is much, much better. Dr. Downing indicates that I should have full use in a few month. I am so grateful that I was referred to him. He is my miracle worker. Thank you Dr. D.
Wanda E.
Submitted 10/12/19
Dr Downing is absolutely the best. Very caring and concerned for his paitient
Colin R.
Submitted 09/19/19
Dr Downing is a genius! I severely injured three of my fingers with a circular saw almost severing the pinky finger completely. Dr Downing was able to save the pinky, add a skin graft to another and restore function and nerves in all three, One year later I am almost back to normal! Highly recommend Dr Downing if needed, but hope you don't do what I did :-)